My Year in Books: 2013

My goal for 2013 was to read 100 books, and I made it by the skin of my teeth.

And, for future reference, graphic novels totally count as real books. Shut up.

By the way, if you’re looking for a post about books released in 2013, this isn’t it. This is all about the books I personally read in 2013, most of which were published before that.

If you’re interested, click on the book links for my reviews. :)

Here are my stats for the year according to Goodreads:

Total Number of Books Read: 100
Total Number of Pages Read: 26449
Longest Book: The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan (810 pages)
Shortest Book: King Arthur’s Knight Quest by Andy Dixon (32 pages)

And here are some personal highlights from my year of reading:

Favourite Book: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Least Favourite Book: This Beautiful Thing by Amanda Heath

Most Anticipated: If Only by Cherise Sinclair or The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

Biggest Disappointment: Will You Love Me? by Cathy Glass

Pleasant Surprise: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

Guilty Pleasure: The Look of Love by Bella Andre

Book I Wouldn’t Share with My Mother: Club Mephisto by Annabel Joseph

Favourite Male Character: Jason Grace from The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Favourite Female Character: Gemma from Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Best Author Dedication: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

Favourite Graphic Novel Series: Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

Keep Tissues Handy: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Darkest Book: Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Most Shocking Scene: A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold by George R.R. Martin

Best Handling of a Taboo Subject: Stolen by Lucy Christopher or Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Doesn’t Get Out Of Your Head: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood or Bran’s Story by Sabrina ‘Maculategiraffe’ Dean

Sexiest Erotica: The Good Boy by Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock

I Need The Sequel Now: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

Favourite Writing Style: A Thread of Deepest Black by Finn Marlowe

Favourite Cover: Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kristin Cronn-Mills

So there you have it – my 2013 in books. I’ve made a Goodreads goal to read at least 50 books this year, around studying for my PhD. I’m hoping to make this post an annual thing, so it’ll be exciting to see what makes the list next for 2014!

2 Comments

  1. I’ve read literally just one of these books – The Handmaid’s Tale – and I was not a fan! Well done for reaching 100, I beat my goal of 75 and read something like 88 in the end. I’m going for the same target again because I hate not meeting targets and I don’t think I’d enjoy reading books as much with a huge deadline looming!

    Love the blog design by the way!

    • I wasn’t expecting to enjoy The Handmaid’s Tale as much as I did! I was pleasantly surprised. :)

      88 is awesome, by the way! To be fair, I did read quite a lot of manga this year, so, you know. They take a bit less time to read!

      I think 50 will be manageable. I might up it if it looks like I’m meeting my goal too easily.

      I love the design too! I spent about an hour this morning going through themes and deciding which one suited it best. :)

      Thank you for the comment! <3

Leave a Reply

